Håvamål

SB_5

F-449px-Vänrikki_Stoolin_tarinat_3H%C3%A5vam%C3%A5l

Know how to cut them, know how to read them,
Know how to stain them, know how to prove them,
Know how to evoke them, know how to score them,
Know how to send them know how to send them

vintagePosters51156681_10150099290056454_7096432_n

“I know that I hung on a windy tree

nine long nights,

wounded with a spear, dedicated to Odin,

myself to myself,

on that tree of which no man knows

from where its roots run.

No bread did they give me nor a drink from a horn

downwards I peered;

I took up the runes, screaming I took them,

then I fell back from there.”

In Old Norse 

“Veit ec at ec hecc vindga meiði a

netr allar nío,

geiri vndaþr oc gefinn Oðni,

sialfr sialfom mer,

a þeim meiþi, er mangi veit, hvers hann af rótom renn.

Við hleifi mic seldo ne viþ hornigi,

nysta ec niþr,

nam ec vp rvnar,o

pandi nam,

fell ec aptr þaðan.”

One thought on “Håvamål

Leave a Reply

