Rumi

rumi

The memory of you makes my heart pound

And my eyes cry tears of blood,

Until, again, I am calm at the sound of your name.

From all but you I shy away; for you alone I’m tame.

I like Rumi’s poetry, but I despise the quran. I think it is a hate filled racist homophobic sexist book that has brought havoc upon earth more so even than Christianity. I respect this was his view, and Rumi of course lived during the Medieval period so we cannot be shocked by his religious devotion. Still, given this piety, Rumi was in several ways far more modern than Muslims today. Considering figures like Rumi, Kahil Gibran etc. why this decision to take offense to any slight critique of Islam? Why this overreaction? Why this desire to take a religion so seriously you would kill for it? We should be past this. We should not kill or be sympathetic to killers. Muslims need to enlighten their belief system before we sink into the abyss. Today it seems you are either a very conservative muslim or you are an ex muslim, why is there no in between?

These lines are at first modern, but the last line reminds me a lot of martyrdom, something I find dangerous.

I died as a mineral and became a plant,
I died as plant and rose to animal,
I died as animal and I was Man.
Why should I fear? When was I less by dying?

Leave a Reply

