Happy New Year

Künstler+Ak+Prosit+Neujahr,+Wohnhaus,+Winterlandschaft,+Kind,+Windmühle,+Nacht+1905-

I’m in the hospital right now for the New Year taking care of my middle aged father. There is a man who has lost his memory. I looked past the curtain because I saw him in the corner of my eye trembling. He wasn’t really crying, but I can tell he is so scared and anxious. We are getting a lot of snow here in Vermont, he is looking out the window at our January blizzard, and I can tell his eyes are watering. The doctors were so mean to this man. He is talking about his children that he remembers, saying he recalls his family members, his dogs, his wife. He says he lost his job, but cannot find other work because his knees are blown out. His wife can’t work either because she spends a lot of time in the hospital sick. “I can’t believe this happened, because I’ve never had this happen before. I woke up yesterday morning, and everything was different. I went into the living room sat on the couch and covered up because it was cold, and I forgot who was what. Instead of letting me wait for awhile they took me up to the hospital. Tonight I remember everything.” The doctors say everything is fine, he had no stroke, they did a cat scan, but no explanation.

“My mouth is so dry I need something to drink.” This man has asked for water a million times and nobody will give him anything. I want to cry right now, is this really what health care is in our country? “I told them I’m leaving one way or another. Once my daughter is here I am getting dressed and leaving. I will be a lot better when I am home. I just can’t stay here any longer.”

I heard his discussion with the doctors and they were yelling at him just because he wants to go home. They were being aggressive and curt. I wonder who this man is, where he’s from, what happened that he lost his job, is he depressed. I wish I could help him, but I don’t want to disturb or embarrass him. This isn’t much of a story, but I thought I’d share it because sooner or later we’re all going to get old, and I hope when I’m scared and confused someone will be nice to me.

Postkarte Glückwunsch Weihnachten, Kinderkopf im Stern, Windmühle, Häuser 1905-

I sure hate hospitals.

Blood10

Blood16

Blood11

Leave a Reply

